National Estuary Program

What is the National Estuary Program?

The National Estuary Program was established by Congress in 1987 to restore and protect estuaries of national significance. There are 28 estuaries of national significance in the National Estuary Program (NEP).

Florida has four National Estuary Programs, more than any other state in the nation:

Coastal regions provide 40% of US employment.

This fact sheet from the Association of National Estuary Programs details how NEPs support natural resources and economies across the country.

The National Estuary Program (NEP) was established under the 1987 Clean Water Act Amendments to improve the quality of estuaries of national importance. It is a unique voluntary and non-regulatory program that operates through partnerships with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and other organizations in the public and private sector. Each NEP operates collaboratively with its major partners and other organizations involved with watershed management.

Section 320 directs EPA to develop plans for attaining or maintaining water quality in an estuary. This includes protection of public water supplies, protection of a balanced population of fish, shellfish and wildlife, support of recreational activities, and control of point and non-point sources of pollution. Each National Estuary Program has established a Comprehensive Conservation Management Plan to meet the goals of Section 320.

The NEPs have succeeded because they focus on the entire watershed, use science to support local decision-making, emphasize collaborative problem-solving, and engage the public.

Visit the National Estuary Program website.
Visit the Association of National Estuary Programs website.